Review: The Scroll, K.B. Hoyle

Our Archive

Welcom to our archive

The Oaken Bookcase > Blog >

Review: The Scroll, K.B. Hoyle

The Scroll (Goodreads) Author:   K.B. Hoyle (website) Follow @kbhoyle_author Rating: Darcy Pennington may once have been an average teenager, but not anymore. Living each year twice, once in her world and once in Alitheia, has made her into someone who cares little for normal teenage activities. She’s got more important things to do, like save the mythical, magical […]

Review: The Burning Sky, Sherry Thomas

The Burning Sky (Goodreads) Author:  Sherry Thomas (website) Rating: It all began with a ruined elixir and an accidental bolt of lightning… Iolanthe Seabourne is the greatest elemental mage of her generation—or so she’s being told. The one prophesied for years to be the savior of The Realm. It is her duty and destiny to face and […]

Review: The Scrivener’s Tale, Fiona McIntosh

This review is part of the Discover Aussie Fantasy feature, running during July on The Oaken Bookcase. You can find details of the feature and enter the giveaway on the Aussie Fantasy page! The Scrivener’s Tale (Goodreads) Author:  Fiona McIntosh (website) Rating: In the bookshops and cafes of present-day Paris, ex-psychologist Gabe Figaret is trying to put […]

Review: The Waste Lands, Stephen King

Title: The Waste Lands (Goodreads) Author:  Stephen King Rating: ~ Blurb from Goodreads ~ Roland, the Last Gunslinger, moves ever closer to the Dark Tower of his dreams and nightmares- as he crosses a desert of damnation in a macabre world that is a twisted mirror of our very own. With him are those he has drawn […]

Review: Days of Blood and Starlight, Laini Taylor

Title: Days of Blood and Starlight (Goodreads) Author:  Laini Taylor (@lainitaylor) Rating: Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love and dared to imagine a new way of living – one without massacres and torn throats and bonfires of the fallen, without revenants or bastard armies or children ripped from their mothers’ arms to […]

Review: Thrall: Twilight of the Aspects, Christie Golden

Title: Thrall: Twilight of the Aspects (Goodreads) Author:  Christie Golden Rating: When Azeroth was young, the noble titans appointed the five great dragonflights to safeguard the budding world. Each of the flights’ leaders was imbued with a portion of the titans’ vast cosmic powers. Together, these majestic Dragon Aspects committed themselves to thwarting any force that threatened […]

Review: Crewel, Gennifer Albin

Title: Crewel (Goodreads) Author:  Gennifer Albin (@genniferalbin) Rating: Gifted with the ability to weave time with matter, Adelice is exactly what the Guild is looking for, and in the world of Arras, being chosen as a Spinster is everything a girl could want. It means privilege, eternal beauty, and being something other than a secretary. It also means […]

Tour: Review: The Enchanted, K.B. Hoyle

Welcome to The Oaken Bookcase’s stop on The Enchanted blog tour! You can find the links to many more opinions and features on the book below my review. Title: The Enchanted (Goodreads) Author:   K.B. Hoyle (@kbhoyle_author) Rating: Darcy Pennington’s course was plotted out for her long before she ever stepped foot in Alitheia. Finally willing to go along […]

Tour: Roots of Insight, Breeanna Putroff – Review and Giveaway

Welcome to The Oaken Bookcase’s stop on the Roots of Insight blog tour! There’s a giveaway and links to the other stops on the tour below my review. Title: Roots of Insight (Goodreads) Author:  Breeanna Putroff (@BPuttroff) Rating: Quinn Robbins has just returned from spending ten days in Eirentheos, a world she had never known existed. Trying to […]

Review: Seeds of Discovery, Breeanna Putroff

Title: Seeds of Discovery (Goodreads) Author:  Breeanna Putroff (@BPuttroff) Rating: Quinn Robbins’ life was everything she thought a teenager’s should be. She has good friends, a family that she loves, good grades, and an after-school job she enjoys. And, she’s just been asked out by Zander Cunningham, a popular football player and great guy. But one day when […]

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers: